0027_13.06.2018 0039_18.06.2018 0019_13.06.2018

Welcome to the SMI Berlin!

Since 2008, the name SMI Berlin stands for competence in social medicine and for objectivity. We work for individuals and lawyers as well as for courts, insurance companies and other clients. At all times, we act independently and neutrally – on that you can rely.

We would like to give you a brief look into our service offers. In case you have already received an invitation to visit us as a patient, you can find here detailed information about the course of the upcoming examination.

Disciplines

doctor 0026_13.06.2018 laboratory

Wide Specialist Spectrum

SMI Berlin is characterized by a wide range of various disciplines. So if necessary, different perspectives can be incorporated in the social-medical appraisal at one and the same place. Many patients find that a relief. In addition, this shortens the completion of the final social-medical report.

Forms of Appraisals

laboratory formen dentist

Type and Form: As Diverse as the Issues to be Clarified

Types and forms of our reports generally depend on the purpose of a certain appraisal and the specific question that should be answered by the respective socio-medical statement. In many cases, we use forms designed by our client organizations. In such cases, the assessments are often based on a pre-formulated questionnaire. This applies among others to:

  • Work or disability reports
  • Accident insurance appraisals
  • Rehabilitation reports

In other situations, for example if the issue is whether and to what extent a mental disease might affect a Patient’s working and earning capacity, some of our clients prefer a report in free form. Even in such cases our final socio-medical appraisals are always based on in-depth interviews conducted by our experienced psychiatrists, psychologists or neurologists.

Furthermore, our wide service offering comprises also appraisals based on home visits, according to the file as well as reports that combine previous findings in form of a summary appraisal.

Whatever question you ask, no matter of number nor form of appraisals you need, our experienced clerks ensure always reliable and efficient processes. Thanks to our elaborate organisational structure and the use of innovative IT-applications, we are able to keep the time between the ordering and the final appraisals’ delivery very short – what is equally in the interest of our patients as it is beneficially for our clients.

What is the Purpose of Social-Medical Reports?

Aims and Occasions of a Social-Medical Appraisal

A social medical appraisal becomes often necessary in order to enable a social security to make an informed and well-founded decision about a claim for benefits. This applies, for example, to work, employment or disability claims as well as to applications for benefits to private or statutory pension schemes. In such cases, we are mostly commissioned by the insurance company responsible for you. So you, as an applicant, do not incur any costs.

If you need a privately commissioned social-medical report according to § 109 of the German Social Court Act (Sozialgerichtsgesetz, SGG) for submission to a court, please feel free to contact us directly. At the request of a plaintiff we prepare, for example, expert reports in accordance with the SGG in cases of disputes for severe disability or reduced earning capacity. We would also be glad to assist you if you want to submit an expert report to a family court, for example, to clarify the capability in regard of maintenance claims.

In addition, an insurance-medical appraisal can be useful if you are seeking advice in a legal dispute, for example due to suspected medical treatment errors. In general, we clear the preparation of privately commissioned medical reports according to the current version of the fee schedule for doctors (Gebührenordnung für Ärzte, GOÄ).

Procedure of Examinations

laboratory 0023_13.06.2018 stethoscope

What Does the Process of an Appraisal Look Like?

Before the actual appraisal starts, you will first have the opportunity to get familiar with the privacy policy of our company. In strict compliance with all legal provisions, we spare no effort to protect your privacy and your right to informational self-determination before, during and after every appraisal. For this reason, please observe yourself the requirement of discretion when signing up. Keep your distance and do not come directly to the reception desk as long as another patient is still looked after there. For privacy reasons, we do not call you up with your name, but instead we issue waiting numbers.

In addition, you will receive a questionnaire upon registration, which will help your appraiser prepare for the examination conversation. Please answer the questions while waiting for your number to be called. Alternatively, we provide a download option here. So you can in advance calmly fill out the questionnaire at home.

Once it’s your turn, your number will be called and your appraiser will escort you to the examination room. Please be aware that the appraisal may include a physical examination. It can be necessary that the doctor will ask you to undress yourself to a certain extent. If you have any questions in regard of the upcoming appraisal, please feel free to ask our local staff. All of us would be glad to help you.

We generally conduct appraisals in German language. If you don’t feel confident enough to speak or understand German, it might be helpful to choose a person of your trust that can accompany you as a translator. You are welcome to bring your own companion. However, it is always up to the examining doctor to decide whether the presence of a third person may possible during the examination or not. In some cases – for example, when the appraisal was commissioned by a pension insurance – the presence of escorts is generally excluded under applicable law.

General Information

lab 0016_13.06.2018 hypertension

All social-medical reports prepared by us are in principle the property of the respective customer institution. For privacy reasons, the report will only be archived there. Whether and under which conditions you, the person concerned, might be granted access to the report, will be solely decided by the institution that commissioned the report. If you have any question about this, please contact your insurance company or your responsible court directly, stating your insurance number or the file number and the date of the examination.

We always prepare your report after a conscientious specialist examination, being ourselves strictly neutral and independent of any interest of a third party. We carefully match the treatment documents you have provided with our self-collected findings. If necessary, we arrange a supplementary diagnosis by a cooperating partner in radiology or laboratory medicine.

About Us

About Us

Since 2008, our company has continuously grown. Today, about 45 experienced doctors of different disciplines look after the patients supported by ten clerks who are always available to assist you.

Chief doctor: Dipl.-Med. Hans-Werner Pfeifer

0039_18.06.2018

0027_13.06.2018 0039_18.06.2018 0019_13.06.2018

Willkommen beim SMI Berlin!

Der Name SMI Berlin steht seit 2008 für sozialmedizinische Kompetenz und Objektivität. Wir arbeiten sowohl für Privatpersonen und Rechtsanwälte als auch für Gerichte, Versicherungen und andere Auftraggeber. Dabei handeln wir stets unabhängig und neutral – darauf können Sie vertrauen.

Auf den kommenden Seiten möchten wir Ihnen unser Leistungsangebot genauer vorstellen. Und sollten Sie als Patient bereits eine Einladung zu uns erhalten haben, können Sie sich vorab ausführlich über den Ablauf der bevorstehenden Begutachtung informieren.

Fachgebiete

doctor 0026_13.06.2018 laboratory

Breites fachärztliches Spektrum

Das SMI Berlin zeichnet sich durch ein überaus breites Spektrum unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen aus: Je nach Notwendigkeit können bei uns an einem Ort verschiedene Perspektiven in die sozialmedizinische Beurteilung einfließen. Das empfinden viele Patienten als Erleichterung. Zudem verkürzt sich so der Weg bis zur Fertigstellung der finalen gutachterlichen Stellungnahme.

Derzeit sind in unserem Haus erfahrene Fachärztinnen und Fachärzte aus den folgenden Disziplinen tätig:

  1. Allergologie
  2. Allgemeinmedizin
  3. Anästhesiologie
  4. Arbeitsmedizin
  5. Chirotherapie
  6. Chirurgie
  7. Dermatologie
  8. Hals-Nasen-Ohren-Heilkunde
  9. Innere Medizin
  10. Kardiologie
  11. Klinische Pharmakologie
  12. Neurologie
  13. Orthopädie
  14. Phlebologie
  15. Plastische und Ästhetische Chirurgie
  16. Physikalische und Rehabilitative Medizin
  17. Psychiatrie
  18. Psychosomatische Medizin
  19. Psychotherapie
  20. Pulmologie
  21. Rehabilitation
  22. Sozialmedizin
  23. Unfallchirurgie
  24. Zahnmedizin

Formen

laboratory formen dentist

Gutachtenarten: So vielfältig wie die zu klärenden Fragen

Art und Form der von uns erstellten Gutachten richten sich generell nach dem Zweck und der konkreten Fragestellung, die durch die sozialmedizinische Stellungnahme beantwortet werden soll. In vielen Fällen liegt ein vom jeweiligen Auftraggeber entworfenes Formular zugrunde. Die Begutachtung erfolgt dann meist anhand eines vorformulierten Fragenkatalogs. Das betrifft unter anderem:

  • Arbeits – oder Berufsunfähigkeitsgutachten
  • Unfallversicherungsgutachten
  • Rehabilitationsgutachten

In anderen Situationen, wenn zum Beispiel die Frage im Raum steht, ob und inwieweit eine psychische Erkrankung die Arbeits- oder Erwerbsfähigkeit beeinträchtigt, bevorzugen manche Auftraggeber ein Gutachten in freier Form. Gleichwohl stützt sich die abschließende sozialmedizinische Beurteilung hierbei stets auf ein intensives, zugewandtes Gespräch unserer erfahrenen Psychiater, Psychologen oder Neurologen mit dem betroffenen Patienten.

Auch Gutachten im Hausbesuch, nach Aktenlage sowie Zusammenführungen in Form von Summationsgutachten gehören zum Leistungsspektrum unseres Hauses.

Egal, mit welcher Fragestellung Sie wie viele Gutachten in welche Form bei uns beauftragen – unsere eingespielten Sachbearbeiter sorgen verlässlich für effiziente und reibungslose Abwicklungsprozesse. Dank einer durchdachten Arbeitsorganisation und dem Einsatz moderner IT-Verfahren gelingt es uns, die Zeitspanne zwischen Begutachtungsterminen und der Auslieferung fertiger Gutachten im Sinne der Patienten und der Auftraggeber kurz zu halten.

Wozu dienen Gutachten

Zweck und Anlass einer sozialmedizinischen Begutachtung

Sozialmedizinische Gutachten sind oftmals notwendig, um Anträge auf Leistungen einer Sozialversicherung sachgerecht und fundiert entscheiden zu können. Das betrifft zum Beispiel Arbeits-, Berufs- oder Erwerbsunfähigkeitsanträge sowie private oder gesetzliche Rentenverfahren. In der Regel beauftragt uns in solchen Fällen die für Sie zuständige Versicherung. Für Sie als Antragsteller entstehen dadurch keine Kosten.

Sollten Sie ein Privatgutachten gemäß § 109 Sozialgerichtsgesetz (SGG) zur Vorlage bei einem Gericht benötigen, können Sie uns gern auch direkt ansprechen. Auf Wunsch des Klägers erstellen wir beispielsweise Fachgutachten gemäß SGG in Streitfällen zu einer Schwerbehinderung oder Erwerbsminderung. Aber auch, wenn Sie beim Familiengericht ein Gutachten etwa zur Klärung des Leistungsvermögens bei Unterhaltsklagen vorlegen wollen, unterstützen wir Sie gern.

Sinnvoll kann eine versicherungsmedizinische Begutachtung darüber hinaus sein, wenn Sie sich in einem Rechtsstreit, zum Beispiel wegen vermuteter Behandlungsfehler, beraten lassen wollen. Generell liquidieren wir die Erstellung von Privatgutachten nach der jeweils gültigen Fassung der Gebührenordnung für Ärzte (GOÄ).

Ablauf der Begutachtung

laboratory 0023_13.06.2018 stethoscope

Wie läuft eine Begutachtung ab?

Bevor die eigentliche Begutachtung beginnt, erhalten Sie zunächst Gelegenheit, sich mit der Datenschutzerklärung unseres Hauses vertraut zu machen. Unter strenger Beachtung aller gesetzlichen Bestimmungen scheuen wir keine Anstrengung, um Ihre Privatsphäre und Ihr Recht auf informationelle Selbstbestimmung vor, während und nach der Begutachtung umfassend zu schützen. Beachten Sie deshalb bitte auch Ihrerseits schon bei der Anmeldung das Gebot der Diskretion: Halten Sie Abstand und treten Sie erst dann direkt an die Rezeption heran, wenn kein anderer Patient mehr dort betreut wird. Aus Datenschutzgründen rufen wir Sie auch nicht mit Ihrem Namen auf, sondern teilen Ihnen eine Wartenummer zu.

Außerdem erhalten Sie bei der Anmeldung einen Fragebogen, der Ihrem Gutachter die Vorbereitung auf das Untersuchungsgespräch erleichtert. Beantworten Sie die Fragen bitte während Sie warten, bis Ihre Nummer aufgerufen wird. Gern können Sie sich den Fragebogen auch hier herunterladen, um ihn zuhause in Ruhe vorab auszufüllen.

Sobald Sie an der Reihe sind, wird Ihre Nummer aufgerufen, und Ihr Gutachter begleitet Sie in den Untersuchungsraum. Beachten Sie bitte, dass die Begutachtung unter Umständen mit einer körperlichen Untersuchung einhergeht. Dazu kann es notwendig sein, dass der Arzt oder die Ärztin Sie bittet, sich im notwendigen Maße zu entkleiden. Sollten Sie darüber hinaus noch Fragen im Vorfeld der Begutachtung haben, wenden Sie sich vertrauensvoll an unsere Mitarbeiter vor Ort. Wir helfen Ihnen gern.

Begutachtungen führen wir grundsätzlich in deutscher Sprache durch. Sollten Sie Deutsch nicht gut genug sprechen oder verstehen, wäre es hilfreich, wenn Sie sich von einer Person Ihres Vertrauens als Übersetzer begleiten lassen. Gern können Sie auch sonst einen Begleiter mitbringen. Über deren Anwesenheit während der Begutachtung entscheidet im Einzelfall jedoch stets der untersuchende Arzt beziehungsweise die untersuchende Ärztin. In manchen Fällen – zum Beispiel bei Begutachtungen für eine Rentenversicherung – ist die Anwesenheit von Begleitpersonen nach geltendem Recht grundsätzlich ausgeschlossen.

Allgemeine Hinweise

lab 0016_13.06.2018 hypertension

Allgemeine Hinweise

Alle von uns erstellten sozialmedizinischen Gutachten sind grundsätzlich Eigentum des Auftraggebers. Aus Datenschutzgründen werden sie auch nur dort archiviert. Ob und unter welchen Voraussetzungen Sie als Betroffener Einsicht in das Gutachten erhalten – darüber entscheidet allein diejenige Institution, die das Gutachten beauftragt hat. Wenn Sie Fragen zum Gutachten haben, wenden Sie sich bitte unter Angabe Ihrer Versicherungsnummer oder des Aktenzeichens und des Untersuchungsdatums direkt an Ihre zuständige Versicherung oder das Gericht.

Wir erstellen Ihr Gutachten stets neutral und unabhängig von irgendwelchen Interessen Dritter nach einer gewissenhaften fachärztlichen Untersuchung. Dabei gleichen wir die von Ihnen zur Verfügung gestellten Behandlungsunterlagen sorgfältig mit den selbst erhobenen Befunden ab. Falls notwendig, veranlassen wir eine ergänzende Diagnostik durch einen mit uns kooperierenden Partner in der Radiologie oder Labormedizin.

Kurzportrait

Wir über uns

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2008 ist das Sozialmedizinische Begutachtungsinstitut SMI Berlin kontinuierlich gewachsen. Heute betreuen etwa 45 erfahrene Gutachter unterschiedlicher Fachrichtung gemeinsam mit zehn Sachbearbeitern die Patienten.

Das Team

Leitender Arzt: Dipl.-Med. Hans-Werner Pfeifer

0039_18.06.2018